Cheese Shop House Dressing

Last weekend, my mom and her best friends visited Williamsburg to shop at the outlets and spend time together for one of their birthdays. When she told me of their plans, the first thing I said was that she would have to have a sandwich at the Cheese Shop for me while she was in town. Cheese Shop sandwiches are pure bliss. The bread is fresh, the cheese (as you may guess) is fantastic, and their signature spread, House Dressing, is to die for. As a student at William and Mary, one of my first lessons was that even on a student’s budget, House Dressing could still be enjoyed. Instead of on a sandwich, most students opt for a $1 bag of bread ends (sweet deal), and a ~$2 container of the spread. From there, dip and enjoy. Many an afternoon were spent spread out (no pun intended) in the Sunken Gardens with that fine combination.

69353_1473286923170_7034558_n

Instead of spending my weekend pining for the dressing, I decided that I would try to find the recipe on the internet and make it for myself. Lo and behold, I found it. In my humble opinion, this tastes almost identical to the House Dressing I so fondly remember. The measurements listed below provide an ample amount for one individual, and I would equate it to the middle sized containers sold by the Cheese Shop. Try it out and let me know how you think it compares!

SHC_4380

Recipe (I found this recipe posted on Food.com)
-1 cup mayonnaise (only the good stuff aka Hellman’s)
-1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
-1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
-1 large garlic clove, minced
-1 teaspoon turbinado sugar (I substituted brown sugar)
-fresh ground pepper, to taste
-1 teaspoon mustard seeds

Directions
1. In a blender or food processor, combine the mayonnaise, mustard, worcestershire sauce, garlic, sugar, and pepper. Make sure the mixture is blended well.

2. Transfer the contents to a bowl.

3. Stir in the mustard seeds. Cover, and store in the refrigerator overnight to let the flavors sink in.

4. After 24 hours, the spread is ready for sandwiches, bread ends, or whatever else your heart desires.

3 responses to “Cheese Shop House Dressing

  1. As a fellow W&M alum, I’m so happy you posted this! I dream about the Cheese Shop on a weekly basis, and am always begging people who visit the burg to bring me pack a pint of “house.” This recipe looks so good, and won’t require a trip :).

Leave a Reply

